Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Konstantine, Jan 17, 2020.

1. Konstantine

Konstantine Grand Admiral

I'm still learning how to perfect this, and while I wish that I could take credit for the victory due to my tactical skills, this is a result of the latest balance changes. That Battlestation was technologically superior to my Frigates, however my PD and ECM neutralized its missiles while my higher evasion negated its direct fire weapons. This is during my mid game, which with my settings, is akin to the early game when production and research is set to normal.

h h.jpg

2. Konstantine

Follow up.

After more testing, the issue isn't related to Frigates alone. Larger ships can now be designed that will negate missile damage entirely while also being configured to max out evasion and suffer less damage over all.

During the early game, missiles were the only viable weapon, now they too have become in-effective, especially if one includes both PD weapons and ECM in their designs. So how do we fight in the early game now? What happens when you stumble upon an AI very early and they declare war?

What about the late game? it too has taken a hit, (though not as pronounced), as it is easier to create some ships that can't be hit due to miniaturization, but at least here you have time to bring some targeting techs into play. Still, missiles remain useless against most targets.

Some changes in 1.08 were essential, such as giving PD to the monsters, others however are less than ideal. And would you believe it? that's right, it was obvious just by looking at the change log that there would be new balance issues.

But hey, what do I know, I could be wrong, it's not like I have any significant time with this game is it?;)

3. Konstantine

Running a few more sessions with various set ups, including the default impossible emperor settings, here’s what I notice.

There are two options that work for me